Heritage Flags

Last year, I started working on a concept that I had been thinking about for a long time. Because so much of my art is based on an ideal, I wanted to develop a series of work that would stand the test of time, both culturally and physically. I also wanted to broaden my reach by creating work that could be displayed outside without breaking down under sun and weather.

The first paintings in this series are American Heritage Flags. The concept is to pay homage to the founding principles of America and create iconic flags that can be displayed in view of the public. I started with this large scale American flag that is waterproof and can be hung on the outside of a barn or workshop for long-distance visibility.

I have since made smaller Gadsden and Back the Blue flags that are also weatherproof. As time allows, I hope to incorporate more designs into my portfolio of American Heritage paintings. My iconic Statue of Liberty is the next subject on the list. I would also like to design some American eagles and other symbols of patriotism and individual liberty.

My vision is for these works of art, as well as my fine art pieces, will be meaningful to their owners in a way that makes them heirlooms, to be passed on to future generations. In this way, ideas that have been visualized in art, can also be passed on to future generations. All of my work is lovingly rendered with a focus on craftsmanship and quality making each piece an enduring investment in beauty and concept.

The flag featured in this post is 4 x 8 feet on exterior grade plywood. The 2×4 foot plywood panels have been attached to a sturdy frame of 2x4s. The entire structure was primed with marine-grade waterproofing epoxy, painted with quality exterior latex and enamel paints for durability and has not shown any weathering after six months in direct sun and weather.

I am asking $500. Please contact frances@libertasamericanaart for purchasing inquiries.

Smaller folk art and heirloom flags can be purchased at Our Town Antiques in Commerce, Georgia.

Frances Byrd is a stay-at-home mom, community volunteer, and artist who loves all things old, living in the country and keeping chickens.

Leave a comment