For Ellen

A few months ago, I had the honor of working on a memorial piece of art for one of my clients. I had minimal direction on the project and no deadline, so I was able to be creative and take my time completing the mixed media piece.
I was very happy with the way the salt ponds turned out in the background. The poem and song lyrics were integral to the design of the piece and the daisies peeking up over the bottom edge added a lovely detail.

Michale Ellen

The painting has gone to its forever home in Virginia, where it mirrors the salt ponds just outside the windows. It keeps company with work by other artists I know, such as Melissa Torres of Texas, whose roses are hanging on the same wall.

Michael Flower

One of my quilted flowers from a recent show was purchased at the same time, and a shelf from my summer folk art show is hanging in the writing room of my patron’s home. It is truly an honor to have so much art gracing someone’s walls.

Do you have a client who purchases or commission’s work regularly? Do you find that you enjoy the process of realizing someone else’s vision through your work, or do you prefer to create solely from your own imagination?

Shoofly Headshot Footer

 

Leave a comment